+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dremel bugs

Hybrid View

Default Dremel bugs

Can I get a good dremel for under 40$ from lowes or home depot? If so what would you recomend. How would I set this up. Would I need an adjustable chuck so I could put a needle in. I looked up an article or two on here but I still don't totally understand how to set it up and what to get. I like the bugs they make and want to try it but I need help getting set up

Katy, Texas (Houston is our biggest suburb!)
    Blog Entries

As I have had Dremels for ages, I have no up-to-date knowledge on prices for new ones. They do not have chucks. They employ what is known as a collet system for holding the tools.My older Dremel came with two or three different size collets, which enables holding needles and larger shafts on their tools. Absent more specific information on what kind of flies you plan to make with them, it is next to impossible to answer your question about "...what to get". I prefer a multiple speed with an A/C motor over the battery powered version. As the A/C motor has brushes in it, you can safely convert a single-speed to a variable speed by powering through a light dimmer switch (rheostat). My multiple speed has only three speeds: Off; Medium; and, High! With a rheostat, my older two speed :On and Off; can be run at any speed between these two speeds. If you are planning on doing balsa and foam bodies with it, the two attachments that I can't live without are the sanding drums and the ball-shaped grinding stone. The latter is used to make the cupped face. It is my understand that Dremel may now offer sanding sleeves for the drums with grit finer than the 120, which has been their finest, and WAAAAY too coarse for bug making. I buy a sheet of 320 grit regular sand paper and cut strips the same width as the sleeve and glue over the grit on the sleeve, using a contact cement. Make an effort to cut the length so the the ends just barely meet when wrapped around th