+ Reply to Thread

Thread: American 'Education'

Hybrid View

Default American 'Education'

As a business owner I can tell you that Americans going thru our public school system are not getting an education. It is PITIFUL!
    They surely know there is this thing called "global warming" and can tell what what supposedly causes it but they can't figure out simple percentages.

Which of the two items above makes you more valuable to your employer?

Next................
    Good fishing technique trumps all.....wish I had it.

Unhappy No smarts anymore

BBW,

You are so correct. Electricity went out in a restaurant a while back and it took them FORTY-FIVE minutes to cipher up the bill for six of us. Sad commentary on the times.

This was on the local radio. A large international corporation hires about 50 high sdchool graduates every year for entry level positions. They "filter" candidates using a very simple apttitude test to access candidates basic skills in math, english and science. The questions on the test did not changed in fourty years. Every year about 100 high school graduates allpy and take the test. 40 years ago company would accept 50 candidates with top scores since 95 % of kids would pass. Since early 90tie the company never filled their quota because less than 50% would pass. The number is dropping every year...

But then waht can you expect. Schools keep lowering requirements to allow studens to get better grades. There are many reasons. One of them it makes school look better... It's just too bad that it the same does not apply to real life. It got so bad that my department only uses "consultants to fill any open position. Contract is for 3 months. If the "consultant" meets our expectations he or she will be offered full time position if not: "next please". We have very few positions opening every year - but we go thrugh a lot of people. There are some jobs that after three years we still have consultans filling them.