+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Spey Lines

Hybrid View

Default Spey Lines

Thanks to the advise of Uncle Barry, my strongest consideration for a line is a short belly.
    However I do have more questions:
    Are there some spey line brands better than others? What would you spey guys suggest?
    If there are many good brands is there certain brands I might want to stay away from?

Also, since I've never done the spey casting/fishing before, I would like to know if any of you fish dries and nymphs as well as streamers when fishing spey rods?

Any help will be appreciated. I will around get to buying a casting dvd also.

Last edited by Yaffle; 01-12-2009 at 12:46 AM.

Uncle Barry Guest

Good morning Grant.

A question first, to you, what weight rod are you using ?

------------------------------------------------------

"Are there some spey line brands better than others? "
    YES !

"If there are many good brands is there certain brands I might want to stay away from?"
    YES ! ...... however as I am supplier in the trade, it would not be fair nor reasonable to put any brand down.

"Also, since I've never done the spey casting/fishing before, I would like to know if any of you fish dries and nymphs as well as streamers when fishing spey rods? "
    I do
    I fish nymphs to dries and streamers on my Spey type rods and in the salt a big streamer for what you call Blues, we call Tailor and Trevars.

Nymph fishing from a Double rod is the most fun you can have because of the facts that the length of the rod allow line mending like you have never seen. The ability to pick up huge amounts of line, and strike a fish 100feet or more down stream.
    AND you can fish/cast where other fly casters cannot, (which drives them mad...when you hook a fish)

The fact being able to strike a fish at distance now has allowed me to fish where 'haven't got a clue' I am there. I normally fish 'across and down' and then start feeding line down stream.

Kind regards,
    UB

Hello Barry