+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Any opinions on this vise

Hybrid View

Default Any opinions on this vise

As a beginner I'm trying to get the biggest bang for the buck so I've been searching the web and I seem to come back to the Fly Master Supreme on this site. Any opinions?
    http://store.beekflies.com/flytyingtools.html

I used one of these for a travel vise for a few years. It served it's purpose, but I'd never go back. Why not buy from an FAOL sponsor, and support this site? The price is even lower......

http://www.hookhack.com/vises.html#Anchor-STANDAR-43190

I am not a big fan. They do not last long and are trouble prone.
    For that price point the griffin 1A or 2A are great vises. They hold hooks very well, made in the States, and Griffin backs their products.

Joe Fox

if ya think ya gonna be into tying (its real adictive) i would bypass those vises and get a rotary cause sooner or later ya ARE gonna want one... a danvise runs about 60$ but is a really good rotary that does the same thing the more expensive rotery vises do... ive been using one fer a year now & i tie lotsa flies... also my tying students use one...
    A.S.F 5th GP ...TO FIGHT SO OTHERS MAY REMAIN FREE...

go for a griffin montana pro. I recieved one as a gift a few years ago and for general tying it is all you could want. But for other tying it lacks a little. If i didnt tye atlantic salmon flies I dont think I would want another vice... although that nor vice is sexy.

phil

Modoc Country.... Extreme N.E. California high desert
    Blog Entries

I say like Heritage does...buy from one of our sponsors......