I am new to fly fishing; just started piddling about 2 years ago, tying too. Too darned busy to do it more often (thus, is exactly what I need). Don't have much available in terms of mentors/buddies, even my kids & wife have no interest, so of course, I first hit books for getting-started research.

My initial/current interest is fresh water, ideally trout in spring-fed streams, but I'll take whatever bites, and ponds will do, especially if they are closer. I'm in central Maryland, so trout fishing is limited. A so-so C&R stream is a 45-minute drive; have only seen 1 trout there. A better one is 1.5 hours away. Not worth it except for an all-day trip, and the better one is very, um, popular on weekends (no thanks).

The books I read discussed temperatures for trout and warm-water fish. They lead me to believe that l/m bass and other warm fish are almost entirely dormant in colder seasons, and you'd be unusually lucky (and skilled) to get any action from them. So I wrote them off outside of summer.

But then I came across this site, and read articles by Joe Hyde and others about fishing blue gill, crappie, and bass in ponds in the winter months. Huh?

Ok, definately worth a try. Last fall I discovered a pond at a park not 5 miles away with blue gill, and it's small, surrounded by trees and brush, adjacent to soccer and football fields. There are some bobbers and lures in the branches, but I don't think many people bother with this little bog, especially with all the trees and brush. This stuff is thick, growing and overhanging well into the water. There are 2 spots cleared enough to walk to the edge without hopeless entanglement in stickers 7-feet high. OK, 1 is cleared 6-feet wide, the other 6-inches wide. No back cast, and tree clearance is 10-feet up (tough with a 9-ft rod).