Hello,

For my real job, I am a physician. More specifically, I am a neonatologist. A neonatologist is a pediatrician that specializes in caring for sick newborn infants, most of whom are premature. (Stick with me here, I will soon relate this to fly tying!)

March of Dimes (MOD) is an organization whose mission is "Saving babies, together". Their current 5 year mission is focused on preventing prematurity , and dealing with the issues associated with premature birth. MOD is best known for their efforts in developing the vaccine against Polio, however they have been very active in other areas affecting newborn care, including respiratory diseases and Spina Bifida. One can obviously see why MOD is an organization near and dear to my heart.

I am a horrible golfer, and don't like to walk, run, or in general exercise much....but I do love to fly fish and tie fishing flies. As a result, I am putting together a fund raiser for MOD that focuses on my love of fly tying. With the encouragement of our local Fayetteville, NC MOD chapter, and the cooporate support of our local (and new) fly shop TarHeel Fish & Game, we are going to have a Fly Tie-a-thon this May. All proceeds obtained from this endeavor will be given to MOD. We will be Tying Flies to Save Babies!!! How can you beat that?