+ Reply to Thread

Thread: The Buck Bug/bomber

Default The Buck Bug/bomber

I was just thinking, yeah know it's stunning to think about, when you consider the size of a bug/bomber.
    This was my number one dry fly this season hands down. Hell, this was my number one producer this season, wet or dry, it beat 'em all. Its amazing to see a fly that size sit on the water and watch a fish rise to it, after all this isn't a dainty little match the hatch type rig, .
    They are fun to tie even more fun to fish and I can't think of any other fly that comes in so many sizes and colours or produces such yeild fished wet or dry.

Hey Mike, I like the picture from your previous post about the Kool-aid dye.
    Those bugs look, well, real buggy.

When I first started fly fishing and tying, My uncle from back home sent me about a dozen flies, of which there were two bugs. These flies were tied with White Caribou, orange hackle and white calf tail.

I was a stubborn beginner and only wanted to fish flies that I had tied myself so these bugs didn't see the water until one frustrating October evening when I couldn't get anything else to work for me.

I tied on a size eight bug, and although I didn't hook my intended species, a nice 10" out of season Brookie nailed that thing on what I believe was my first cast.
    It was getting dark but that bug brought a few more rises before I gave up for the night.

Since that time I have been tying these bugs and having great success on the larger rivers that I fish.
    They often seem to be just the remedy for catching the largest trout on dries when the fishing is good and the trout are not too fussy.

I tie them in size eight down to a size sixteen, which is way too small to do often.

I don't know if you ever multi-tone your bugs but I often find these to work very well also.