+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Keeping fish hooked

Hybrid View

Default Keeping fish hooked

I am new to tenkara and just learning. To you all that have been at it awhile--Question: Do you have trouble keeping fish that you have hooked attached until you can land them? I am using barbless hooks, fishing for trout in a river. Last trip hooked 3 landed 1. I don't seem to have trouble using my graphite conventional gear using the same flies, in the same river.

Wondering if the very light tip section of my dragontail 365 is too flexable to get a hook set????? What do you think? Any suggestions?

Thanks Dick

I’ve went through a few spells like you when it was hard to keep fish hooked but I just kept at it and the problem was resolved. Incidentally the most trout I have ever caught in one outing was with a tenkara rod. I caught 62 in just a few hours back in 2011.

Dick -

I only used Tenkara rods for about a year. ( They are too limited in range for the rivers where I spend my time. )

But I do not recall any problem with keeping fish on to the point of landing them when using a Tenkara rig.

What you describe seems to me is not a question of "setting" the hook, but an issue of keeping adequate pressure on the fishies. I say that because I never think in terms of "setting" a hook, and routinely land fish on flies on which I have cut off the hook well behind the barb, by keeping good pressure on the fish.

The "pressure" issue may well be related to the flexible, or soft, tip of the rod you are using. Thinking in terms of pressure and how to apply it with the Tenkara rod might solve the problem ??

John
    The fish are always right.

Dick -

As a follow up to my earlier comments - it struck me that perhaps using a shorter line / leader / tippet set up might help keep more pressure on the fishies, and result in more coming to hand.

John
    The fish are always right.