+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Davy Knot thought/opinions ....

Default Davy Knot thought/opinions ....

I use a lot of 6x, 6.5x and 7x tippet when fishing. I have been using the Orvis knot for about 7 years. No problems with it at all. I saw a video of the Davy knot and it looks like it would be easier to tie and also looks like it would have a smaller knot. Does anyone here fish the Davy knot? What are your thoughts/opinions?

Thanks

greg

I use it all the time, that and the double Davy.

Like any other knot you have to test it when done.

Not hard to miss putting the end through the right way but if the tail end sits at 90 degrees and holds it is good to go.

It has been a winner for me.

I use it because I can tie it very quickly. I'm also primarily fishing tailwaters with small midges on light tippet. I agree that you must test the knot, but I can't say that I've had many failures at the knot itself.

I use it on all my flies except streamers.
    Randy

Quote Originally Posted by gqualls View Post
    I use a lot of 6x, 6.5x and 7x tippet when fishing. I have been using the Orvis knot for about 7 years. No problems with it at all. I saw a video of the Davy knot and it looks like it would be easier to tie and also looks like it would have a smaller knot. Does anyone here fish the Davy knot? What are your thoughts/opinions?
    I have been using the Orvis knot for quite awhile. I think it's easier to tie than the DK and at least as strong.

Bill Nash, the late West Coast knot guru, found some flaw with the DK and stopped recommending it. He preferred the Orvis knot or the non-slip loop.