+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: quarantining materials

Hybrid View

Default quarantining materials

I was asked how to do it tonight. I'm kind of sloppy about it since I live alone. I just toss new stuff on the end of the dining room table for a while. When I realize it has been there a while without showing signs of bugs I put it away. Does anyone have a more spouse friendly system to recommend?
    I can think of few acts more selfish than refusing a vaccination.

rainbow,

Not sure this answers you exact question but this is what I've done and my stuff has stayed reasonably okay. Oh, I've been tying for about 55 years, gotten killed stuff over the years and have used this method. Not sure where I learned it but it seems to work.
    Clean skin (bird or mammal) and get off all the fat you can. Wash in a bucket of medium warm water with some dish detergent (I use Dawn) and about a 1/4 cup of bleach added. Wash thoroughly. Rinse thoroughly, squeeze out gently so you don't damage hair or feathers. Let air dry by hanging on a line or putting skin side down on newspapers. If you do go the newspaper route, flip skin over to get it to dry on both sides. When completely dry, cut to fit into zip lock bags. I add 1 or 2 moth balls to a large bag. If I'm just plucking feathers, I do the same but instead of air drying I'll put them in a pillowcase and place it in the dryer on a warm setting. Then into a zip lock bag.
    I'm sure there are other methods but this one has worked for the skins or feathers I've gotten.
    And, just in case, I do not put a new supply of anything with my good stuff. I'll wait a few months to see if any critters show up.
    Allan
    Last edited by Allan; 04-23-2014 at 12:54 AM.