+ Reply to Thread

Thread: A question

Hybrid View

Question A question

I note that there is a great proliferation of fly reels recently. They are expensive and precision devices. I've been fishing for many decades and never found fault with my Pfleuger Medalists. Are they still made? Have they fallen into disfavor? Are they considered antiques? I think my assortment will last forever. Thanks.

Blog Entries

Ray,

Pflueger still sells the Medalist in a Combo package (rod,reel, etc) but their website does not show the Medalist as a reel being sold. They do sell Purist, an Automatic, a President and a Trion fly reels.

With the great number of Medalists out there still being sold on the internet sites, I suspect the Medalist will be around for a long time.

Larry ---sagefisher---

The "new" Medalists are made in China, and are not up to the standards of the older U.S. made reels.

Blog Entries

You can buy Medalists lots of places.
    The Medalists are much heavier than new reels. They are also not as smooth in operation as the new precision reels.
    Like most, I still have a couple made in the 70's before production was moved offshore.

They are considered collectable depending on the vintage. For me any that are 6 rivet I consider collectable...that leaves out the DA series which were made in the states but not 6 rivet....others will differ.

They quit making Medalists within this past year.....
    The Green Hornet strikes again!!!

Quote Originally Posted by flyfisher7 View Post
    The"new" Medalists are made in China, and are not up to the standards ofthe older U.S. made reels.
    But the spools, even on the knock-off Compac reels will fit Pflueger Medalistbodies.

About 20 years ago I contacted Pflueger for some extra parts (pawltops, springs) and they sent a few no-charge. They may still have some if youWRITE to them.