+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Question on line length

Hybrid View

20 minutes from the Great Smoky Mountains N.P. and lots of cool water fishing.

Question Question on line length

I am still learning to cast a fly, or rather the line. I see references about "strip off about 30 feet of line" in J. Castwell's articles on casting. My question is, is that in reference to 30 feet of fly line which would be about 40 feet total or 30 feet including leader and tippet? I get the impression that it is the latter, but then I think maybe it is 30 feet of line off the reel for a total cast length of 40 or so feet.

Maybe I'm just over thinking this and should just cast to the fish.

EDIT: Forgot to mention, I mostly fish freestone streams in the Seattle area. Lot's of times there is not a lot of room for a backcast, so a lot of roll casts.
    Last edited by holensum; 07-23-2013 at 03:49 AM.
    Gordon
    Live every day as if it were your last.

Fly line weights are based on the first thirty feet of line. by stripping off thirty feet of fly line plus whatever leader you have you are getting enough line to load your rod properly if you have a balanced outfit.
    I can think of few acts more selfish than refusing a vaccination.

That make sense. Never thought of that reason. Thanks.
    Gordon

Well, let's say you're ready to begin practicing. You need to 'string ' your rod(put leader and line through the eyes and out the tip top) and should have roughly a 9' leader/tippet with a tiny fuzzball thingy at the end(so you can see how and where your 'fly' is going) plus about 3 feet of line sticking out from the tip top of the rod. NOW follow J. Castwell's instructions!
    If you took your rod/reel and just walked out to a lawn without 'stringing' and stripped off 30' of line from the reel, that line would simply be piled under you on the lawn.