+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Professional Tying - Setting Up

Hybrid View

Default Professional Tying - Setting Up

This is a follow-on to the post about Mary Dette Clark suggesting that a pro should be able to tie a dozen catskills in an hour.

My assumption is that all materials are laid out a head of time. My question is, how is this done?

Let's say you're tying an Adams:
    I can see setting out say a dozen wings, but how do you keep the wings from floating around all over the place?
    Does a pro set aside a dozen different sets of spade feathers?
    Do you set aside a dozen small balls of dubbing?
    How about the hackle? How do you keep this from floating around?

Enquiring minds have been wondering about this for awhile.

-Steven

I'm not a professional tier. However, if I'm going to tie a dozen of Adams, I will set a pile of measured grizzly hackles, another pile of measured brown hackles, a third pile with few feathers to take the barbs from to make the tails. If you want to use moose maine, then cut several of them and put them in the hair stacker. I will also set 12 pairs of feathers for the wing and 12 hooks (I like to pinch the barbs, so I do it at this time). The dubbing material doesn't need to be pulled in advance, but the pack has to be at hand. I will have 2 or 3 bobbins ready, for those occasions where the thread gets cut and I need to re-thread the bobbin.
    to avoid things flying around, you need to have a more or less clear of clutter space. Put the sets in front of the vice, and as long as the feathers are in little piles, they will stay where I put them. Keep the scissors in your hand at all time, so you create less air movement trying to reach them.
    M
    "And I think to myself .....what a wonderful world" Satchmo