+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Ascension Island

Hybrid View

Default Ascension Island

Had a couple hours to kill on a trip to Ascension. Threw clousers into the surf. Finally figured out a way to keep the triggers away from my fly and got a few of these. I have no idea what they are, but they ripped line way into the backing, and fought like hell. Good times!!!!!!

Cool!
    I'm no saltwater expert... I've never seen any member of the Jack family with colors that dark! Possibly a Black Jack? They are an open-water species only occasionally found near shore or over reefs.
    David Merical
    St. Louis, MO

Lovely fish! looks like a black Trevally to me, but not sure about the range of those.
    How big are the trigger fish?
    All the best.
    Mike

Just found this on Wikipedia