Introduction:
I recently put up 2 posts on Tenkara/backpacking fly fishing trips I made into high mountain lakes, providing information on the fishing conditions, fly patterns fished, and the results achieved. My purpose in doing all that was to provide board members with information that might improve their fishing results on alpine stillwaters. I believe my efforts fell short of their intended purposes because I did not take the time, nor did I have the space, to properly explain the reasons why I did some of the things that I did. I intend to correct that omission now with what will become a series of articles on high lake Tenkara fly fishing.

Why Tenkara Tackle Is Great For Fishing The Alpine Lakes: I have been fishing alpine lakes for more than 40 years with western fly fishing tackle, and about one and a half seasons now with my Tenkara tackle. As everyone here probably already knows Tenkara tackle was developed for fishing small mountain streams in Japan. But Tenkara tackle (but not necessarily traditional or "pure" Tenkara tackle) offers some distinct and significant advantages over using western fly fishing tackle for fishing high mountain lakes. This is not because of the differences between the two types of tackle in and of themselves, but because of the better suitability Tenkara tackle shows for fishing the unique environments of the high mountain lakes for the trout who live in them. Alpine lakes are cold and deep waters, with lake bottoms that were gouged out of solid rock by rivers of ice. The winters up there are also long and cold, the ice free growing seasons are very brief for the trout compared to lower elevation lakes, and the trout's food supplies are scant at best. The most productive areas of these lakes for the trout's food to be produced is found in the shallows, generally right against the windward lake shore. So the ability to throw a long line is not really needed or even desirable for fishing these high lakes. Good eyesight and the ab