+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Product Review: Hobbs Creek Fly Line

Hybrid View

Default Product Review: Hobbs Creek Fly Line

Check out my review.

I love this line! But please, comment away. I am dying to know what I have to look forward to in a more expensive fly line.

-Tony
    All men are equal before fish.

-Herbert Hoover

Spare Time for Fish

Do you have enough backing on the reel? To help with the memory problem; before you fish, strip off the amount of line you think you will need and pull it through your hand with enough pressure that you can feel the heat. If you do this two or three times the coils should stay straightened out for the day. Include your monofilament leader in this stretching too.
    I can think of few acts more selfish than refusing a vaccination.

I have no experience with the Hobbs Creek line but it's possible that the coiling issue is the result of line twists put into the line as part of the castIng process. Repeated roll casting to the same side as well as repetitively casts that to. It shoot all of the line that has been stripped off the reel will introduce twists into the line. So will some other types of casts. In many cases removing the twists from the line will eliminate the coils. Many the customers who come into the shop with complaints about coiled line actually just have accumulates a lot of twists. Upon removing them the line performs much better.

Of course some lines do have some memory and need to be stretched.

I posted it as a comment on your blog, but one think i will say, is when you store your fly line for long periods of time, take it off the reel and wrap it loosely around a 5 gallon paint bucket. It will fix a lot of memory issues.

I have that fly line on one of my entry level reels and just replaced it this year after 3 years. I had used it so much, that the part that was always in the water, was about 5 shades lighter than the part that rarely left the reel

Paul