+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about hooks

Hybrid View

Blog Entries

Default Question about hooks

Since neither appears to be a sponsor here, for tying, how are the Saber Brand hooks sold by Flyshack, and the hooks sold by Allen flyfishing as far as quality? I know the old adage about "getting what you paid for" but the Name Brands are nearly $20 per 100, and these are both around $7. I'd like to find good hooks for under $10 per 100. I am just starting out and could use some guidance before I sink a couple hundred bucks in hooks.

Dave

NewTyer 1 Guest

Allen Fly Fishing has made a great name for themselves in a short time. There quality is good and the customer service is second to none. You should have no problem from their stock. Good luck

Wizard,

You can find good deals on hooks all over the internet. Allen is good. I get hooks from both Togen (www.togenenterprises.com ) and Hagens (www.hagensfish.com ). Both have excellent prices on hooks, $30-$90/1000 depending on style (you can buy less than 1,000s, but that's the base price I work from).

I keep hearing all that 'you get what you pay for' stuff too, but it is only a fish hook. They've been making them for a couple of hundred years now, and it's a pretty simple object. If I was counting on the fish I catch for sustenance, then a high dollar hook would make sense. So would bait. But I fish for fun. If the fish gets away, I'll just try to catch another one.

Good Luck!

Buddy

I have been using some of the Allen hooks that I got on a deal from Allen that they reneged on the remainder of the deal but that is another story.

The quality seems OK, that being said I haven't really had a chance to have a big fish on to see if it would straighten the hook.
    The eyes seem to be well formed but like any manufacturer you may get the odd one that is less than perfect.

The coding is similar to Tiemco.