+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: reel advice

Hybrid View

1. Default reel advice

Greetings fellow board members,I'm loking to tap into your knowledge and opinions on either the Ross Evolution LT 4 or the Bauer Rogue 4.I'm going after steelhead in the Great Lakes region.This will be my first attempt after steelies on a flyrod.The rod I"ll be using will be a Sage RPL 9ft 7wt.Hope get hear a lot of feedback,thanks in advance.

I can't speak on the Bauer, bur I've been fishing a Momentum for steelies for several years and find it more than enough reel for the job.

Blog Entries

bassbugger,

Regarding the Ross Evolutions, when they first came out I just had to buy one for my freshwater trout fishing needs. It is a nice reel, but after a few years it fell apart on me when I was out fishing on the river in Montana, actually fell apart. I sent it in and Ross fixed it. After I had purchased the reel I started reading about how they had a serious problem with their drag system and it would burn up right away when you got a big fish hooked. So, I never bought another Ross Evolution.

Maybe they fixed the problem, I don't know.

I have no knowledge about Bauer reels.

All of my reels now are Orvis reels. They hold up very well and can really take a beating. Regarding their large arbor reels, as with most other brands, I find that I can not get enough backing on the spool because the reel fills up too much with the line. My solution for that was to go to the next larger large arbor reel and that took care of the problem. I do like large arbor reels, they get the line in so much faster and there is less coil memory in the line. The Mid-Arbor reel works well also. The Battenkills are bullet proof if you want a standard sized spool reel. Give one of the middle grade Orvis reels a try, I think you will like them. ps: They also look good on my Sage rods.

Larry ---sagefisher---