+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Fly Lanyard and Sundries

Hybrid View

1602 NE 180th Ter Smithville MO 64089-9120.

Default Fly Lanyard and Sundries

How many guys use a lanyard and what do you keep on them?
    I'm trying to get an idea of what I need on mine. How many connectors or attachment
    points do you have on yours would you like more or less than what you have right now?
    I'm designing a new lanyard and I need some feedback before I start.
    Thanks

I've been using a lanyard for a couple of years now, but I still have not decided if I like doing that.

It has a small Swiss Army knife with sharp scissors, a magnetic fly threader, a clip to hold it to my shirt, forceps on a zinger, a holder for a bottle of floatant and a nipper on a zinger. I don't have a need for any more attachments, but your mileage may vary.

I guess I use one. I have spliced a piece of 14 wt. double taper spey line into a "lanyard" with nippers and a hook file on it. I don't need much stuff when I fish. Along with the "lanyard" I carry a box of flies, a spool of tippet, and a tip wallet. Nothing more. Why would you need more?
    "The reason you have a good vision is you're standing on the shoulders of giants." ~ Andy Batcho

Blog Entries

heres mine home made i keep my tippit, gink, nippers, small flybox, magnifier, forcips, nail knotter, line cleanser ans leader straightener,

Mine is a commercial Mayfly product, which has a tab of leather in addition to the clips. The leather is great for attaching my forceps. On the clips are floatant, nippers, line straightener/fly drier and whistle. (I can’t understand people who go into a river out in a tube without a whistle). At the bottom there is a clip to attach the lanyard to my shirt so that it doesn't swing into the way, and there I have also attached a split ring to affix a small magnet fly drying box.
    In my pockets I have the small fly box for the evening, and both 3x and 5x tippet for rebuilding leaders.