Thread: The Bank Robber - a review

Threaded View

Default The Bank Robber - a review

I don't ordinarily review a product on this site, however I felt this time it was OK because St. Croix is a sponsor here.

I made a move I haven't made in ten years. I bought a factory built fly rod a couple of weeks ago while I was fishing in Michigan. (I've been building all of mine for the past several years.) I started seriously playing with big streamers about 4 years ago. I had read about the Bank Robber since it's inception and was interested in it. When I played with this rod at the Midwest Fly Fishing Show, I knew I was going to buy it. Oddly enough, St. Croix wasn't represented at that show this year. I think that was probably a big mistake on their part because there seemed to be a lot of interest in this particular rod as well as others with the new 3M nano matrix. I know I was ready to buy a rod that day. This rod was designed by Kelly Galloup and St. Croix, specifically for streamer fishing. It's the first of it's kind.

Kelly had the only Bank Robber rod available on site at the show, so I borrowed it for a little while. I liked it a lot then, but casting it on a crowded indoor casting pool with floating line, isn't the same as casting it for what it was designed for, Big honking streamers and sink tip lines. It casts both like a charm. Up to now, my favorite rod for steamers, was a borrowed Winston. This rod rocks that.