+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Spiderwire?

Hybrid View

Default Spiderwire?

I'm still a rookie at furling. So far, all I have done till tonight have been leaders made with 6/0 Uni thread. Tonight, while thinking about what material I could use to make a stronger leader, I grabbed a spool of 6# Spiderwire. It has the diameter of 2# mono. I furled a 5-foot leader with a #10 barrel swivel on the small end.
    Does anyone have any experience or opinion dealing with Spiderwire?

Thanks,
    Zac
    The Green Hornet strikes again!!!

It will not have any elasticity...some folks have been known to add a strand to other materials to add strength and counteract elasticity....but you probably knew that.

Well, I know it has zero elasticity to it. That's what got me thinking this may not be the best idea. Will 3 or so feet of mono or fluorocarbon tippet material counteract that a little bit? No stretch means more sensitivity, too... for streamer/wet fishing, that might help. (?)
    The Green Hornet strikes again!!!

Zac;
    You may find that that leader will handle 5' of tippet for some elasticity.

Zac,