+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Fireline Crystal

Hybrid View

Default Fireline Crystal

I have been furling for a couple years now (thanks to Kathy's DVD and some encouraging words at a fly fishing show). I have since been looking for the best all round material to make my leaders. I have used Uni, mono, flouro, nylon thread, polyester thread, and some materials with names I could not even read. I have seen advantages and disadvantages of the many materials I have tried, but last summer I started using Fireline Crystal and I do not think I will be furling anything else for a floating leader. I love the duribility, the way it turns over a wide variety of flies (dry and wet) and it floats forever. I have yet to see anybody talk about using this material, so, I was wondering ......I am the first one to use Fireline Crystal (which I doubt)? If you have had experiences with Fireline Crystal, I would certainly like to hear them.
    caribe

What is this Fireline Crystal, and where do you get it? Obviously, I've never used it, but would like to!
    Trouts don't live in ugly places.

A friend is not who knows you the longest, but the one who came and never left your side.

Don't look back, we ain't goin' that way.

Blog Entries

Betty,

I believe this is the material Caribe may be talking about:
    http://www.berkley-fishing.com/produ...-fused-crystal

But then, I could be wrong.

Larry ---sagefisher---

OK! Thank you! Next question ... it's available with weight equivalent to mono from .5 lbs up through 12 pounds. What weight would be suggested to compare to Uni-6/0 thread?

A friend is not who knows you the longest, but the one who came and never left your side.

Question Here's another question for you.

Betty -

Do you want to spend something around $5.00 per furled leader ??

That might take some of the fun out of it, especially if you goofed while making one and had to throw out the material.

John
    The fish are always right.