+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Featured Sponsor - O. Mustad & Son A.S. - October 25, 2010

Hybrid View

Blog Entries

Default Featured Sponsor - O. Mustad & Son A.S. - October 25, 2010

Featured Sponsor - O. Mustad & Son A.S.

Mustad started manufacturing and selling hooks in the 1870s, and it?s likely that if you have been tying flies for more than just a couple decades your first fly tying hooks were Mustad hooks.

They are just about the only hook I ever use. I love 'em, and trust 'em.
    Where you go is less important than how you take the steps.
    Fish with a Friend,
    Lotech Joe

I have been using Mustads for 44+ years. If I have ever had a Mustad hook fail me, I don't remember it. They have always been affordable, and most importantly, reliable. My ONLY "complaint" has ,and continues to be, the return loop eyes on the 9575 streamer hooks as well as the salmon hooks. I would love for Mustad to put a little longer return loop as well as a fine taper to the loop on these hooks. It wouldn't hurt for the salmon hooks to have a little style/flair, and NOT look so much like a 94840 with a turned up eye. Just some wishful thinking! I will say that up to now the fish could care less about the return loop eye, but many tiers I know, have commented (to me) that the return loop was too abrupt (not tapered enough) for them.
    Back in the very early 70s I was tying some #28 spent wing midge/trico patterns to fish for some of the extremely selective (picky) trout on Spring Crick at Fishermans Paradise, here in Penna. I remember using nylon sewing thread for the tippet on the #28s.