+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Lake Erie (PA) Steelhead Fishing

Hybrid View

Cold Guest

Default Lake Erie (PA) Steelhead Fishing

We're rapidly approaching the annual fall run of steelhead in the Great Lakes, and while I'm by no means an expert, I know enough to go up and catch a few fish in the small PA tribs.

I figured I'd post a few articles in my blog to help shorten the learning curve for anyone considering making the 2010-2011 steelhead season their first.

If you think fishing the PA tribs might be something you'd like to try, I'm going to be doing my best in this 3 article series to give you some of the information that you usually don't get until you figure it out for yourself, on the water. It's not the most glamorous look at GL steelhead, but as opinions go, its honest.

http://dharmaofthedrift.blogspot.com/

Hey Cold! My son and I did this last fall for the first time. I hooked into a big fish on an 8 wt, had it on the line for at least 20 minutes. About 3 feet from netting it, took another long run, went around a pile of shale and the line went slack. My son looked at me and said he was sorry I hadn't caught it. I told him that was more fun fishing than I'd had in a long time. It's frustrating at first but we were lucky to have gone with a local club that's affiliated with our high school. Some of these guys gave me tips that really allowed me to hook up one. What amazed me was that I'd tied a lot of flies in preparation, but every fish I saw caught had gone after small nymphs. You're right, there's a learning curve- but some great fishing!

Cold Guest

I'm glad you enjoyed your experience!