+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Does anyone keep a fishing journal?

Hybrid View

Default Does anyone keep a fishing journal?

I just bought a small notebook to use a journal to record info regarding my fishing. Things like date, location, conditions, flies/lures that produced, (or did NOT produce), etc...
    I've only got one entry so far but was wondering who, if anyone, else keeps a fishing journal and what kind of information do you inclued in your entries?

I've been keeping a fishing log for about the past 20 years or so. I pretty much keep track of the items you listed, in addition to specie, number and size of fish caught. I'm not sure I've ever analyzed the data contained to draw any hard and fast conclusions, but it is fun to review how fishing was back in the day.

p.s. I also keep track of my fishing companions on each trip as well as notes regarding any new of special equipment I might have used.
    "People tend to get the politicians and the fishing tackle they deserve" -
    John Gierach, Fishing Bamboo

http://www.tenkaraflyfish.blogspot.com/

Years ago I kept hand-written fishing logs, but have been keeping electronic fishing logs using MS Excel since mid-October 2005.
    Over the years I've changed some of the details I track. I track date, location fished, # of fish, species, lenght or wt. of the biggest of each species/trip, what flies or lures (and colors) caught the most or biggest fish, who I fished with, what times I started and stopped fishing (and total time fished), monthly fish totals, yearly species totals. I used to track water temps, wind speed and direction, water levels/flow rates...thought about tracking moon phases and barometric pressure, but haven't done that. I've learned a great deal about seasonal trends, and it helps me decide what species of fish, and what locations I want to fish throughout the year.