Sport fishing column for August 16 to 23, 2010

Some weeks ago I took my wife and daughter back to a lake in the Cariboo that we had not fished in ten years. After finding the fish (credit goes to my wife Kim for spotting the Damsel flies climbing up the bulrush stems), we were quickly casting to active prospects. While Kim was able quickly adapt to the accurate casting required in extracting brookies from the reeds, my daughter Joanna was not. I tried to remedy the problem by setting Joanna up with a spinning rod and float system. The problem with this was that there was no direct connection to the fly below the float, leaving a time delay between seeing the float go down and attempted hook sets. The time delay resulted in missed fish.

As an instructor, I learned while watching my daughter's frustration that all the knowledge in the world is worthless; if you have not first walked through all the rudimentary skills required for success.

The report

Our lower mainland lake fishing (trout and kokanee) has dropped off again due to the heat. Early mornings and evenings are the ticket once again. For wet (sinking) fly fishing try: Big Black, Nation's Black, Baggy Shrimp, Coachman, Cased Caddis, Halfback, Dragon Nymph, Carey Special, Zulu, or Doc Spratley. For dry (floating) fly fishing try: Tom Thumb, Renegade, Black Gnat, Foam Ant, Griffith Gnat, Royal Coachman, or Elk Hair Caddis. For kokanee try: Red Abbis, Red Spratley, Bloodworm, Royal Coachman, San Juan Worm, or red Micro Leach.

Local bass and crappie fishing is AAA. For bass try: Size #4 to #1 Wooly Bugger, Big Black, Blood Leach, Matuka, Popin Bugs, Chernobyl Ants, Crayfish, Clouser's Deep Minnow, Epoxy Minnow, Deceiver, Muddler Minnow, Dolly Whacker, Turk's Tarantula, Bucktail, Hair Frog, Irresistible, or Tom Thumb. For crappie try: Black Gnat, Lady McConnel, Coachman, Royal Coachman, Ant, chartreuse Boobie, Wooly Bugger, Trico, Griffith Gnat, or Irresistible.