+ Reply to Thread

Thread: going to Great Falls, MT

Hybrid View

1. Default going to Great Falls, MT

Hey friends, so next week I get to travel to Great Falls, MT for a work trip. I am hoping I will have some extra time in the evenings to do some fly fishing. I think I'll also have the full day on Thursday available to fish.

Are there any streams/rivers that pretty close to town that you'd recommend? (I don't care about your secret spot, I just want public access points and parking areas.) Specifically, are there places I could wade or fish from shore?

How's the water been lately? Is it warm enough that I could wet-wade? My waders are pretty bulky to bring on an airplane for a non-fishing trip.

Got any fly shops in town you'd recommend?

(PS - definitely can't wait to get a chance to flyfish for a day. Currently live in Chicago, so it has been waaay too long. Thank goodness I've bought travel rods before! )
    Last edited by FarmerJohn; 08-05-2010 at 04:56 AM.

I'm no expert on the area but have fished the Missouri river -- only about 60 miles south of Great Falls -- down near Craig. Well worth hiring a guide for a day. As for fly shops, not sure about Great Falls but would be surprised if they didn't have a few. Definitely have many shops in Craig -- in fact, that is just about all there is. I fished the Mo. several days last summer and found it to be some of the best fishing and best grade of fish that I caught last summer. However, I fished from a boat. There should be areas to wade in the area also.

Good luck. There is a guide in the area named Dave Carnihan that I fished with -- good guy, good experience, good guide.

John,
    I live in Missoula and I'm not familiar with the fishing around Great Falls. You might "google" "Great Falls fly shops" or try one of these two here. They might have good suggestions. Best Regards.....

http://www.kingfisherflyshop.com/
    http://www.grizzlyhackle.com/
    Exploring the waters of western Montana...