+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Purists don't look, but bass anglers, take a peek

Hybrid View

Blog Entries

Default Purists don't look, but bass anglers, take a peek

This is George Glazener's pattern. I just started playing around with it the past couple of days. It is a striper fly, or a hybrid striper. I made it in a 1/0 but the recipe is 2/0-3/0. I saw George at the Texoma Tie In, and showed him the one fly I did, he told me I needed to move the eyes back, so I did. Here is the best one from the past couple of days. It still needs tweaking, but I know it will catch fish!

Blog Entries

Don't tell anyone but lots of "flyfishing" guides have been using "props" in front of silver (coho) salmon flies for years. And they work.

Blog Entries

I have used a propeller in front of a woolly bugger type fly...they do work. I usually put a propeller next to the eye, with a bead behind it. They do work alright. I didn't know coho salmon flies had propellers though. That is cool.

Katy, Texas (Houston is our biggest suburb!)
    Blog Entries

kelkay:

Very nice fly! Spinner blades on flies were very popular in the early 1900's, but lost favor after WW II. There seems to have been a resurgence in their use during the past couple of decades.

aged sage

Very nice Kelkay. Pretty certain of its success.
    Steve

Blog Entries

Thanks guys. Aged Sage, I have been learning that recently. I know that the fly is fairly slow for me to tie because split rings and adding the blade and all that takes time. Then I use Bug Bond to cover nail polish on the blade. You know, if it weren't for that, epoxy would work just fine. But I was pretty impatient and I did all the blades before putting them on the fly. I didn't have to use epoxy stuff on the body, eyes, or thread head, but I wanted to for durability.

Bass_Bug Guest