+ Reply to Thread

Thread: IMPROVING YOUR FLY CASTING - Readers Cast (Steven McGarthwaite - June 7, 2010

Hybrid View

Blog Entries

Default IMPROVING YOUR FLY CASTING - Readers Cast (Steven McGarthwaite - June 7, 2010

IMPROVING YOUR FLY CASTING

Those who wish to improve their fly casting, should first inspect their equipment, before signing up for fly casting instruction.*Few days ago I posted something on the bulletin board in response to someone wanting input about paying for fly casting lessons.*There were some FAOL members who get paid for fly casting lessons, and I think I might have gored their cow, from their response to my posting.*I am opinionated, just as everyone else, with their own opinions.*But I speak from my experiences in life, and learning from my mistakes?over the past 62 years.*PS:*I was a Senior Instructor in the U.S. Army, so I know how to teach someone properly so they succeed.

Personally I don't think the grip on the fly rod will either make you a better caster or poorer caster. What I do think will improve your casting is lessons from a certified instructor and practice. In reading/listening/ watching great casters such as Lefty Kreh and Joan Wulff, I have never heard them suggest or imply that you needed a customized grip to improve your casting. The only time I could see a specialized grip helping is if you hand had a physical deformaty of some kind, or if you had unusually large or small hands.

But the article is interesting.
    " If a man is truly blessed, he returns home from fishing to the best catch of his life." Christopher Armour

Blog Entries

It makes sense to me. I recently made a stick for my lawyer who is a big guy with big hands. I didn't measure anything, but made the grip larger thinking it would be more comfortable. He has been raving about how much he likes to cast it and about how good it feels in his hand. I expect to sell him some more rods.
    Kevin