+ Reply to Thread

Thread: FUN FUN FUN - Panfish - May 10, 2010

Hybrid View

Blog Entries

Default FUN FUN FUN - Panfish - May 10, 2010

FUN FUN FUN

Still to wet to try to get the canoe into any ponds and rain is in the forecast so it may take a while. I decided to try a pond that I had not fished for a few years.

The pond had been fished out of bass and the gills had become stunted. I had a friend put in some flathead catfish, but those were caught out in a few years. I had made a large mistake, I think, in putting an article in the local paper asking people to leave the bass and catfish that had been put in the pond. All that happened is that a few folks went back out and fished it down.

Default Three Can Keep a Secret...

I have been fishing for 57 of my 62 years. Fishing is still the same, today as it was when I was young, there are a small minority of anglers that would drain the lake or stream to harvest all the fish, with no consideration for others or the ecosystem that they are destroying.

I have fished almost exclusively in Minnesota, where I was born and raised, and moved back to Minnesota to raise my own family. I have seen the ecosystem of our freshwater lakes, ponds, rivers, streams, creeks being destroyed by self-centered individuals and groups are only concern about catching and keeping as many fish as possible (even ignoring the fishing regulations on daily quotas + allowed number of a species in possession (freezers storage).

Their greed, and being self-centered, have destroy many a productive waters over the 57 years. It is impossible to hire enough game and fish wardens to police all of the public waters.

I know of three bodies of water that are on State Land, that still have the Giant Blue Gills of my Youth. I never take anyone with me when I visit these of a vanishing species, that on other waters have been replaced with "Runts".