+ Reply to Thread

Thread: newbie here, educate me please

Hybrid View

Default newbie here, educate me please

I am contemplating purchasing a 8wt "affordable" fly rod for the odd trip to the beach. I have never fished the salt (I live thousands of miles away from the ocean), thus this is all new to me. I am looking at the HX8 090 from Wild Water Fly Fishing (8 wt 4 pc), it sounds like an O.K. rod. I will also keep an eye on e-bay in case a good deal can be found there. I figure I'll probably use the rod once every few years, that being the main reason for wanting to keep the price of the purchase low as it will not get used very often.
    What would you folks recommend for an affordable reel to go with this rod? I am looking for something durable, looks not being a priority. Every reel I have looked at "online" does not specify if it can be used in salt water. Any particular brand I should look at? what specs should I look for in a reel for saltwater fishing. I am hoping to get a chance to target a bonefish in a year or two.
    Thank you in advance for your assistance.
    Saltamontes

Hello Saltamontes and welcome to FAOL. I started fishing the suds not too long ago and what I got me for that task is a Redington Crosswater set up. My setup is an 8wt and I fish the SoCal beaches, we don't catch big fish here but the conditions require that weight. I spent around $ 110 (around $ 130 for the 4 piece) plus a $ 30 sinking tip line and I'm happy with it. There might be much better and pricier set ups but this gets the job done. The set up doesn't have to be for saltwater specifically just make sure you rinse it with fresh water after each use. I haven no experience on that rod and reel you're asking about but if you're not going to be fishing every weekend I'm sure it would do just fine.
    I hope this helps.
    Martin
    Last edited by Martin McFly; 04-20-2010 at 07:34 AM.
    I believe I can fly fish

Hey there, you're not too far from me...I'm in Havre, MT!