+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New to Salt Water

Hybrid View

Default New to Salt Water

Hello, I just moved to Eastern north carolina to jacksonville and I am new to the concept of Salt water fly Fishing, I have completely no idea how to go about doing it. I have fished small freshwater streams and lakes my whole life and i want to try out the ocean now. I Planed on renting a kayak or surf fishing for the most part i don't have money to buy a boat or store it anywhere since I'm in the military. I have been scouring the internet for tips or any knowledge on the subject but i haven't yet found any. SO here are some of my questions that i have.

1. I have a 8'6 5 wt fresh water rod ( is there a difference between freshwater and salt will i need to buy a new one)
    2. what type of line should i get. What kind of entry level fly reel should I get.
    3. What species inhabit costal north carolina that are in surf and kayak range.
    4. What books or where can i get any knowledge I read to get spun up on the type of fishing I plan on doing.

Thanks for your help

Blog Entries

I'll give this a try.

Realize that while I'm a Floridian, I've never fished around Jacksonville. From what I've heard, a lot of fishing there takes place in tidal creeks for redfish and spotted seatrout. While you can handle most trout and some redfish on a 5-weight rod, you might need a little bigger rod (7 or to be able to cast the bigger and often heavier flies (Clousers, Gurglers, etc.). As far as a reel goes, all you need is something that will hold up against salt water. Most often the reel's sole purpose is to hold the line at the end of the day. I've caught 30-inch reds that never got me into the backing and that I could hand-strip in. There are many less costly reels out there that can and will do the job.
    As far as lines go, I use a Scientific Anglers Redifsh full floating line on my 8-weight and an SA clear sinktip on my 6-weight. I like to use the 6 when I'm targetting trout.