+ Reply to Thread

Thread: new salt fly rod and reel

Hybrid View

Default new salt fly rod and reel

I am looking for a new salt fly rod and reel. I visited bass pro today and was not impressed but new to the this sport of salt fly fishing. I see Sage on this site for multi hundreds of dollars and praise for the product. I just don't want to spend those kind of bucks.

I moved to the coast and played a lot of golf. I had bought a driver from Walmart for $20 and used that to drive the ball farther than most of my opponents at the club with the latest and greatest and most expensive equipment available. What is it about fly equipment that we should spend so much money? This question will probably bring on comments on my ignorants but I am old enough to take it. Lloyd

We're all new at something at some point. There is nothing ignorant about your question, I went through the very same issue a while back. I'm very new at fishing the suds too.
    I got me the Redington Crosswater for my saltwater fishing. It's one heck of a set up but for around $ 110 (2 piece) and around 140 (4 piece). It comes a compound reel with a smooth drag the extra spools are only like $ 20.
    I wouldn't spend more than that in a setup right now.
    Best of luck with whatever you decide to buy.
    Last edited by Martin McFly; 01-22-2010 at 01:24 AM.
    I believe I can fly fish

Redington, Cortland, Temple Fork Outfitters, Ross Reels Worldwide, and St. Croix just five companies that sell flyrods that work find for saltwater angling for less than $150.

I have a Cortland 8/9 rod that was $80 that works fine. Now it is not as nice to cast as my $300 and $600 Sage rods, but it does get the job done.

The Redington Crosswater combo's that Martin mentioned are excellent for getting started in the salt. You can find some St. Croix Premier model rods in 8 and 9 wt for $65 if you look. They can be found closeout discount.

Quote Originally Posted by cucuy View Post