+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm not a rich doctor...but

Hybrid View

Default I'm not a rich doctor...but

When I took early retirement when I was 55 years old, my co-workers gave me a card that they all signed.

The front of the card began "Want to make hundreds of dollars a week for doing absolutely nothing?"

The question was answered when I opened the card.

"Don't quit your job."

I still have the card and smile every time I read it.

Whoever thought up the message on this card was wrong, of course. I may have been paid hundreds of dollars a week, but I had to be there 40 hours a week to collect my paycheck.

And, now that I'm retired I get the richest rewards of all by being able to spend my summer days on Montana's rivers chasing trout, and I don't waste any time in getting them. I'm one rich guy!

John

I always looked at work this way....If it was so much FUN...they wouldnt have to PAY PEOPLE to do it!

Its kinda like "chores" around the house.....Im sure than on my death bed I'll whisper to my wife that " I sure wish I'd have mowed the front yard one more time"........

Quote Originally Posted by Sully View Post
    I always looked at work this way....If it was so much FUN...they wouldnt have to PAY PEOPLE to do it!

Its kinda like "chores" around the house.....Im sure than on my death bed I'll whisper to my wife that " I sure wish I'd have mowed the front yard one more time"........
    Well, it really wonders me, as we say here in PA Dutch country, that so many people pay $500 or so per day for a guide to take them fishing. Just being out on the river is so much fun that's my pay for doing it.

Quote Originally Posted by John Rhoades View Post
    Well, it really wonders me, as we say here in PA Dutch country, that so many people pay $500 or so per day for a guide to take them fishing. Just being out on the river is so much fun that's my pay for doing it.
    Amen to that.