+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Got to buy a new stove!

Hybrid View

nighthawk Guest

Angry Got to buy a new stove!

Well that old Magic Chef ain't so magical anymore! Gas and propane are way too expensive in our area so we will stick with the electric.

Looks like I am off to Home Depot. Amy picked it out already. She said "I want that one" and I said the wisest thing a man can say when those words are spoken by woman. I said "Yes Ma'am!".

The good news is free delivery and disposal of the old unit. I got a new deep freezer from them earlier this year; Mom got a new dryer last week saved about $65 on delivery and disposal cost.
    Want to hear God laugh? Tell him Your plans!!!

Speaking as a restaurant chef, I wouldn't give you a nickle for an electric stove.

There's the equivalent of 27 kilowatt hours in a gallon of propane.
    The price of electricity in PA is around the national average.... $.12 per kWh ( check your bill )
    27 X .12 = $ 3.24
    The price of propane in PA for the week of 12/7/09 ....$2.956

just sayin'
    Last edited by dudley; 12-16-2009 at 12:58 AM.
    The simpler the outfit, the more skill it takes to manage it, and the more pleasure one gets in his achievements.
    --- Horace Kephart

Hey Dudley,
    Nobody likes a smartass.

Mark

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Marco View Post
    Hey Dudley,
    Nobody likes a smartass.

Mark
    We don't like each other in here?
    Kevin

Be careful how you live. You may be the only Bible some person ever reads.

Dudley is right on this one a gas stove is cheaper to use then electric. I bought a duel fuel, best of both worlds. gas cook top and an electric convection oven.

nighthawk Guest

If I want to cook with propane it is done, quite frequently, out doors on the Char-Broil gas grill. It is a big one and more than up to the tasks at hand for a small family.