+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I got worms

Hybrid View

Default I got worms

Last time I went fishing I noticed this guy catching tilapias with small mealworms and a bobber. My first attempt to tie one of those never quite caught anything so I started to think about tying it in a different way. I used canvas yarn, which by the way is a great material for a lot of uses. Really simple, just wrapped around a curved hooked.

Since I haven't gone fishing much I got a lot of extra time at home so while I watched an mma fight and tied a lot of colors...what do you guys think? They might not look exactly like a mealworm but I bet it'll catch a fish or two.

This is my first attempt...
    Last edited by Martin McFly; 11-19-2009 at 06:03 AM.
    I believe I can fly fish

Martin. I reckon you will do a fair amount of damage with those flies. They look the part to me. have fun. Jax

Blog Entries

I'm surprised your first ones didn catch anything their nice. i catch on them all the time with min but i use rubber bands they work great just arry the strech as you wrap to taper the body then when done add the cure youwant to the hook. works well both for fly line and spinner set got me a nice large mouth on one afer a baby small took it. was a killer catch.

Nice looking flies, Martin. In the right situation, I could see them being taken for a cadis larva. Just where does one find canvas yarn ?

I tied the first attempt as a carp fly but I have never gotten any hits, it could be because the waters I have been fishing don't hold a lotta fish or because the ones I use to fish were not producing a lot. I'm not saying I have given up on it but I wanted to try something else because if I don't start catching fish soon I'll go crazy (lol)