+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Dry vs. Nymph

Hybrid View

Default Dry vs. Nymph

I am new to all of this... and ive herd that their are dry guys, wet guys, and nymph guys. well i keep more dries than nymphs, i learned with dry flys and got comfortable with them. I just dont wanna be limited to one type. but when i try nymphs i am so lost. i hardly get fish and its hard to tell if i am even getting a bite.... can anyone tell me anything about it? when to use them and how to use them? thanks guys i need all i can get.

Hi garb72 have you discovered this yet: http://www.flyanglersonline.com/begin/101/ ? Lots of answers here
    I can think of few acts more selfish than refusing a vaccination.

I would suggest getting a good guide to teach you about nymphing. I was in the same boat as you. I had read a bunch about nymphing, but when I actually got on the water it was total chaos. I got so frustrated that I even considered giving up fly fishing. I once heard Dave Whitlock state that he thought getting good instruction was worth more than any equipment you could buy. So I decided to find a guide with the goal of learning. I outlined my goals to the guide and he has taught me quite a bit. I have since nymphed on my own and been successful. My confidence level is much higher than it was and now I expect to catch fish instead of just hoping. I still have a ton to learn, but learning from someone experienced helped get me over that initial hump.

As far as bite detection goes, have you tried fishing your nymph below some sort of indicator? Not only does it make it easier to detect bites, but it makes it easier to tell how well your nymph is drifting and helps control depth. Also, rainbowchaser pointed you to a great spot to find a lot of your answers. My best advise? Have patience and a sense of humor with yourself. If you can laugh instead of curse, the learning process is more fun and goes a LOT faster.

BTW welcome aboard!
    If it swims and eats, it'll eat a fly.