+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Casting distance

Hybrid View

Default Casting distance

I have been fly fishing for almost two years, and I am basically self taught. I just bought a new TFO TiCr X rod (without ever trying one), and am anxiously waiting for it to arrive. I can currently cast about 15 yards with my bass pro combo. I learned early that I catch more fish when I am not casting so I focus more on mending and presentation. I have been in some situations where I could not reach my target. I am going from a 5 wt. to the TFO in a 4wt 9foot rod. I have also started praticing in my yard which has definetly helped. My hope is the new rod will increase my range.

My question to you guys is what should I expect distance wise, and what kind of distance is possible for an excellent caster?

Thanks!

Jason

No expert here, but PRACTICE will increase your range faster than a new rod...There are casters who can throw the entire line, but for general purposes, 30-50 feet will do you just fine. What kind of Bass Pro combo???

Edit: just notice you said 15 yards, not feet. Still that's half of a 90 foot line...
    Last edited by DaveP63; 09-07-2009 at 05:06 PM.
    "They say you forget your troubles on a trout stream, but that's not quite it. What happens is that you begin to see where your troubles fit into the grand scheme of things, and suddenly they're just not such a big deal anymore." - John Gierach

I use a Whiteriver 5 wt. rod with the hobbs creek real that you can get from pass pro for around $100. It comes already strung so I've got no clue what kind of line I am throwing.

My new TFO TiCr X is a 4 wt. so it looks line I am in the market for a new real. I think I am supposed to match the rod weight with 4 weight fly line. As soon as the rod arrives, I plan on switching my existing real to see how things go.