+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Peacock Herl

Hybrid View

Question Peacock Herl

First lemme say I do not get to post much here but I love y'alls outlook on fly tying. Seems no one takes themselves too seriously, which is good, cause if you saw my flies you would understand true humility.

My Question: I am tying 18 and 20 Chrinomides (sp) that have a little herl collar just behind the bead. My herl is 'Peacock Herl, Strung, 1/4 oz'. The problem is that the strands are so brittle. It is nearly impossible to wrap one and have it not break.

Is there a technique to wrap herl? Or, is there a way to prep herl so it is not brittle?

Default Hey MarkF

I have had the same problem. I am by no means an expert, but i just try not to pull so hard on the herl as it is very delicate. Other than that I have clue how to solve the problem. Also, there is a group under community called Texas Flies that are a bunch of us from Texas. Stop by and say hi sometime.
    Never brag about you equipment or skill. One is obvious and the other will be.

http://s3.bitefight.org/c.php?uid=89095

You could try cutting back the first inch of the herl, some time tips are more fragile. When I wrap multiple herls for larger flies, I tie them in, twist them around the tying thread and wrap (thread re-enforces the peacock); this also works for single herl on smaller flies, but you have to be a bit more gentle. You may have some older herl that has dried out and needs to be replaced. You could also skip herl and use synthetic dubbing in peacock color (Arizona, Ice Dub, etc) - the stuff works but I still think nothing beats real peacock. Hope this helps.

Regards,
    Scott

Mark,

Try to find whole pecock tale feathers at a craft store. Use the small thinner hearl close to the bottom of the feather. That seams to work for me with very small flies.
    "Don't mess with the Mule, just load the wagon"
    David L
    Roseburg Or.