6/21/09

Trials and Tribulations

Well, I have been doing the fly thing now for three years. I have amassed rods, reels, lines, flies, a vise, loads of feathers and stuff and a love for this sport. I have now done it just long enough to have overcome most newbie mistakes, had grand experiences with beginners luck and have moved to a point I am disappointed in my perceived lack of progress. My last trip to a mostly meadow stream environment in New Mexico, the Rio Penasco, has left me more questions than answers.

My Questions Center around:
1. Knots
2. Droppers, kinda related to number 1
3. Breakage of tippet
4. Wet Flies.

Knots: I have been using clinch and improved clinch to tie files to tippet. Mono tippet, I use the clinch. Fluorocarbon tippet I use the improved clinch. I need a better knot for the fluoro. Prior to my conversion from being a dreaded bait guy, I used the Palmor knot with fluoro, it worked well. However, as y?all know, aint no way the eye of a size 20 fly will allow a double pass through of the line. I am using Frog Hair 5X fluoro tippet and perhaps that is the problem. My fluoro knots are just not holding. I am losing some fish to knot slippage.

Droppers: We do a lot of two fly nymphing. Have a larger nymph over a dropper in say size 20-22. I have been typing the dropper line to the bend of the upper flies hook. This has become a painfully slow process. This is kinda two questions. Where do you tie your dropper line and what knot do you use?

Breakage: I have been using Cabala?s four packs of 5X trout tapered leaders. This trip I experienced a great deal of breakage. Did I get a bad batch, or have y?all experienced that?