+ Reply to Thread

Thread: need help here!

Hybrid View

Default need help here!

I fish the Clinch river in Tennessee and I am having a hard time understanding how to fish nymths,and I have a problem with how to retrieve the line when I use wet flies. I end up with alot of line in the water when I go to casting back out. Can I get a little help here. Thanks. Roger You can tell I'm new at this.

Hello Ninjaturtle, Just wanted to say welcome aboard to FAOL from So Cal. Since you are in Tennessee I'm sure some of our members there will chime in when they see your post. This is a top notch outfit.
    Joining a local fly fishing club may be in order.
    Actually nymphing is a skill that is better hands on taught than told how to. Retrieving line is done by stripping it back in. The use of a stripping basking keeps most line out of the water. Oh yeah. Practice, Practice, Practice. Jim
    I'm either going to, coming from or thinking about fishing. Jim

Hey ninjaturtle!! A big welcome from South Central Tennessee!!

We do a lot of wet fly fishing here. I use the across and down method giving the fly short strips while it is swinging. A lot of fish are caught at the end of the swing so don't be too quick to make another cast.

I have made a red mark on my fly line with a Sharpie Pen that is at "MY" comfort zone to lift and cast. I strip in untill the mark is at my rod tip. This reduces the number of bad/poor casts and I spend a lot more time fishing instead of untangeling!

On our tail waters here most of us use a furled leader made of 4# test Berkley Transition Flourocarbon. It lets you throw longer tippets and sinks like a rock to get the fly down deep and quick. Contact me at jackhise@charter.net and I'll send you one.

Quote Originally Posted by ninjaturtle View Post