+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question for the board

Default Question for the board

I'm looking to get into inshore fishing for Redfish and Speckled Trout around Orange Beach/Biloxi marsh areas. I currently have a 6 wt (TFO TiCr), and I am in the market for a larger rod, an 8 or 9 wt. I'm not very experienced in Saltwater flyfishing, as most of my experience has been western trout fishing, bream and bass. I was wondering what some of your recommendations might be as far as rod sizes, etc. Is my 6 wt big enough? Or should i got with an 8 or 9, and if so which one? I'm looking for versatility, and I'm on a budget. I've been keeping my eyes open for Redington CPS rods, they seem to be the most bang for the buck. Any opinions or help would be greatly appreciated.

As far as the fish goes a 6 wt is enough for speckled trout. I use a fast 7 wt for specks. The problem may be the wind and the challenge of casting weighted or bulky flies. For a redfish I would go with at least an 8 wt. You may hook a 1 lb redfish, but you may hook a 10 lb redfish. Some redfish will make you wish for a 9 wt. If you fish the Dixie Bar, 20-30 lb redfish are common.

6wt is the minimum for inshore species. I fish a Scott Heliply 6wt inshore when the wind is down, but it has very good backbone for a 6wt. You can fish the 6wt, but a big redfish will whip your butt. The most versitile weight for inshore is an 8wt and this is the weight I fish most of the time.

I would suggest you find a medium/fast to fast action 8wt. You are not going to get blazing runs with specks or redfish, but you may hook into a big jack or mackeral. I would make sure you have a good drag on the reel.
    You don't ever want a crisis to go to waste... - Rahm Emanuel

Who is John Galt?

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...038&hasJS=true

Look at the TFO8964P, it comes with a reel (large arbor) for $259.95. Get the backing and a good saltwater line and you're good to go.

Jim