Thread: Complete Newbie!

Threaded View

Default Complete Newbie!

Hello everyone! After years and years of wanting to try fly fishing, I've finally gone and done it. The nice thing is that I got a nice medalist reel from this guy, and as a bonus, he sent me his old vise and some materials to get started with tying as well. So I had a somewhat free evening (somewhat hard to do when you've got 3 kids under eight) and got to do some tying. I had a couple of ideas in mind, and just came up with some other stuff. I had borrowed Helen Shaw's Fly Tying: Materials, Tools, Technique from the library. Although it is a little dated, it very clearly outlines various techniques and methods. There were a few things I read there that I wanted to try, and then compare to how I've seen/read on the internet.

Anyhow, here's what I was up to today:

Ok, so starting at the top right, we have a white hair tail, black thread body, brown hackle, and some white hair again for visibility. I was hoping that this would somewhat resemble a spinner or emerger... something sitting in the film.
    Next one down is a white hair tail, grayish brown dubbing body, grizzly hackle. Dubbing wasn't very well done.
    Next is my attempt at a bivisible, with a grizzly hackle palmered and a white hair tuft. It would have been better if I had some white hackle... hopefully soon.
    Bottom of the right hand side is my attempt at a parachute. Muskrat tail, muskrat dubbing body, white hair parachute with grizzly hackle wrapped around the white hair. The hackle should have been longer and maybe thicker.
    Top left is a woolly bugger, as is the second one, but the second one has a very ample tail. I wanted to second one to imitate a leech, I suppose we'll have to wait and see on that one.