+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Traditional vest vs. Chest pack?

Hybrid View

Default Traditional vest vs. Chest pack?

What say you? I'm just starting out and it is plenty hot here most of the spring/summer.
    Gary

NRA
    SCI

Arrow

I don't use either one, I use a fanny pack that I can slide around to any part of my waist or I can put it up over my shoulders for deeper water, but I rarely stand still and fish in water above my waist. Mine has 5 different sections in it,$7.00... I like it cause its easy just to crab it and go, is very light weight, and, like your thinking, the heat. It also acts as a belt for my waders too...

Last edited by Grubb; 04-25-2009 at 01:12 PM.

Normand Guest

i cant see my feet now when i look down so a chest pack is out of the question

i use a simms g3 vest

or ill carry just 1 fly box and my homemade neck lanyard

Blog Entries

Default How to be a minimalist...

spend the money on a lanyard with basic tools and a quick dry shirt with swell pockets. put your few flies in small boxes (you're just starting, right?) in the pockets. as the next few years bring you a plethora of gadgets gifted by well-meaning friends and family, you can join the legions of anglers who spend hours working on the question of how to carry it all. or you can decide the question is moot, 'cause you're happy with what you have.

meanwhile, you'll be fishing while the rest of us are searching all those pockets!
    fly fishing and baseball share a totally deceptive simplicity; that's why they can both be lifelong pursuits.

You've already received a lot of opinions and I'm going to add one more.
    http://www.fishpondusa.com/sagebrush.cfm