+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Grannom Emerger Question

Hybrid View

Default Grannom Emerger Question

Would the body color on a Grannom emerger be green or dark brown with a gray wing or shroud? In what part of the evolutionary process do they turn from green to dark brown and almost black? I always get mixed up with caddis hatches.
    Thanks,
    Bruce

Quote Originally Posted by lastchance View Post
    Would the body color on a Grannom emerger be green or dark brown with a gray wing or shroud? In what part of the evolutionary process do they turn from green to dark brown and almost black? I always get mixed up with caddis hatches.
    Thanks,
    Bruce
    This one's particularly confusing because grannom refers to the genus brachycentrus. Then the question is which species.

I'm no bug expert, but I think two species are important: Americanus (American Grannom) and Numerosus.

I think Americanus is the brown wing, green body. Numerosus is the gray body, dark (almost black wing). I wonder if you're getting the two confused (or heck, maybe I'm just plain wrong)?

I fish the b. numerosus hatch every april. Green body/black wing ESP's and DSP's work as does the classic starling & herl fished down and across. Mercer's Z-wing pupa is a good
    'un as well. For the adult, I like a grey body, black wing with the hackle tied up front like a stimulator (not palmered on the body).

Default You're right, Steven

I should have been more clear. There are plenty of them. I'm speaking of the Pennsylvania Grannoms that hatch in April and May. That's as close as I can describe them. I don't know the correct biological species.

Default Pennsylvania Grannoms

Lastchance for the j fish the lead wing coachman.

John
    Fish like predator.

Hi,

A while back we had a thread on Pritt's Greentail (pattern 33 of his list), which is a softhackle grannom fly immitation.

Body: rear half - green floss/sild (emerald green; so dark green, not bright)