+ Reply to Thread

Thread: fly line ? whats the deal?

Hybrid View

Question fly line ? whats the deal?

I mean, I'v never seen a fly line manufacturing set up so I really don't know. But how does a company Like cortland make one line that isn't as good as another like a 333, or 444, or there fairplay line with out it costing them the same to make? and what really makes the difference?

I'm not an expert, but my guess would be that there is a different polymer coating, R&D.... stuff that make is more supple, float higher, smoother\longer casting....whatever

And\or marketing to the people who have to have the newest\best out there.....

Just my 2 cents

Sheeez Tim.... stop thinking so much......
    "We do not inherit the earth; we borrow it from our children."

Lightbulb

LOL I think your right Gringo, good advice, I think I'll take it...

Quote Originally Posted by black_co View Post
    And\or marketing to the people who have to have the newest\best out there.....

Just my 2 cents
    There ya go! No way you could cast that fancy new flyrod with last year's piece of junk, old techonolgy fly line.

Brad

What is the difference between a compact car and an SUV?

Different models use different materials at different amounts. There is also a certain amount of R/D that goes into each. Not every line has the exact same taper. This upfront cost is paid back in every line sold. More R/D higher cost per line. Cast a fairplay line, and then a 555 line and see which one shoots better, floats better, and lasts longer.