+ Reply to Thread

Thread: trout stamp

Hybrid View

Question trout stamp

I am brand new at this and was just wondering. If I buy a trout stamp in TN is it good in other states? I use to duck hunt and I know the duck stamp was federal and was good in any state. All you had to do was buy the correct hunting license. Does the trout stamp work the same way?

thanks in advance,
    hNt

PS: One other thing, if I never get my fly out of that tree and in the water, I will probably never catch a fish. That being said, think I need to waste the dough on fishing license?
    "If we lie to the government, it's called a felony, when they lie to us, it's called politics." Bill Murray

I know for Arkansas and Missouri, trout stamps are non-transferable. I would assume that is pretty well standard. In Ark, you would buy a federal duck stamp, but also a migratory bird stamp for the state.

As far as a fishing license, there is no better place to learn than on the water. Not many fish are caught from a persons front yard. Real life conditions are not very easily substituted.
    Arkansas State Coordinator for Reel Recovery
    Board Member of Fly Fishing Federation Southern Council

Blog Entries

No. Trout are managed by each state, not nationally. Waterfowl are regulated by the US Fish and Wildlife Service, and the duck stamp you buy is a Federal stamp, not a state one. The state duck stamp you buy in some states, like here in CO, is ONLY for that state, and here, at least, you still need the federal one.

So, if you go elsewhere to fish for trout, you need to get whatever that state requires to fish for trout. Read and follow the regulations wherever you fish, and you will be fine. Don't, and it can get expensive in a hurry.

No, I live in Tennessee and like the others have said, your trout stamp is only good in the state you reside in, not unlike your federal duck stamp that you have to purchase from the post office, that makes it federal.

hungNtree,