+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Generosity

Hybrid View

Default Generosity

I work on oil rigs for a living as a wellsite geologist. The job is great and often times there are long periods of time, 3-5 days where I have no responsibility. During this time I like to break out my travel tying kit and pump out some flies for the upcoming season. A few weeks ago I was tying in my trailor and our saftey captain came in to talk (and yell at me for not signing into the rig that day) and he noticed me tying. He used to do a lot of flyfishing and tying in his younger days but cannot anymore due to his health and other issues. A few weeks passed by and this morning he walked in and handed me two books. Art Flick's Master Fly Tying Guide and Poul Jorgensen's Dressing Flies for Fresh and Salt Water. He told me to keep them. I was enthralled to say the least and it always astounds me that in gerneral flyfisher's are the nicest ppl I have ever met. I've only talked to this guy twice and he gives me two great books. Great guy.

I agree with you very much, I have always found fly tyers, rod builders and fly fisherpersons, to be the most generous and friendly of all folks I meet. Even the ones you will talk to here on FAOL and never see are the same way. I want to thank all of you that have helped me in one way or another. John
    I wish you all everlasting flies and tight lines.

People that share the love of the outdoors are my kind of people. Really friendly and willing to help a new guy out. I've been on the receiving side of some great generousity from fly fishing and even a few who spin fishing fellows. Life is grand isn't it?

Blog Entries