Thread: Dressing scissors

Threaded View

1. Default Dressing scissors

As some of you may know, many fly-dressers prefer to "palm" their scissors. This of course also increases fly-dressing speed, ( if you want to), and is more convenient, as you don't have to waste time scrabbling about on your bench looking for them or even picking them up and putting them down again.

I was never really satisfied with the various "palming" scissors and snips which are available, but there is no doubt that palming scissors saves a lot of time and messing on, so I sat down and studied the problem a little more.

The ones I have used here, are cheap "spring" iris scissors which I bought at a flea market for 2 Euros. One might of course modify higher quality scissors, but these are perfectly adequate. They cut very precisely right to the very fine tips and are easy to sharpen with a diamond file or similar. I have been using the scissors in the photo for a couple of years now, and only sharpened them lightly once.

QUOTE FROM EZE-LAP http://www.eze-lap.com/sharpen.htm

Sharpening Scissors

To Sharpen Scissors:

1. Use a felt-tipped pen to put ink on the anvil surface of each blade. The anvil surfaces are the ground areas on the blades. They are usually not as shiny as the rest of the blade surface, and they face each other.

2. Open the scissors and place one point on a pad of paper at the edge of a table. (The pad simply protects the table.)

3. Rub the EZE-LAP over the inked anvil surface with circular motion, using moderate pressure. The metal will glisten as you proceed. Continue until you have removed all the ink from the surface. Do not use the EZE-LAP on any surface except the anvil surface. The last dozen strokes should be performed with reduced pressure to give a smooth finish.

4. Repeat step 3, working on the other blade.

5. Open and close the scissors rapidly as if you were cutting paper. This action removes tiny metal splinters created in the sharpening process.