+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: no whip finisher.

Hybrid View

Default no whip finisher.

I am new to tying and realized that I don't have a whip finisher. What is the best way to finish a fly without a whip finisher? Any special knot or Knot and head cement combo? I was hoping to start out by tying McEggs and Woolly Buggers to start with, and some simple nymph patterns.
    Thank You. Erich

Talking Hello From Ohio

Eric! or should I call you "Red",
    Youi can whip finish by hand or with a tool. Either will work I will post hand instructions as soon as I can find that dumb web page. If you prefer some flies can be finished with half hitch. depends on what your looking for as a result. PM me I have a group of guys that can help localy.
    Dave

OK! HERE IT IS!!

http://www.flyanglersonline.com/feat...es/part304.php
    Last edited by ohiofly; 12-15-2008 at 02:31 AM. Reason: add web addy
    "Rivers and the inhabitants of the watery elements are made for wise men to contemplate and for fools to pass by without consideration"
    "Izaac Walton"
    Member of NBOF
    Life Member FFF
    Member Ohio Council FFF

Smile

I teach and the children are taught that they can use the open end of a BALL POINT PEN for a half hich tool. Couple wraps around the pen put the hole over the eye of the hook and slid the thread off. Couple time and the fly is finished. BILL

hutjensmpg Guest

Most bodkins also have a half hitch tool opposite the needle. There are various ways to do it and there are some good videos by Gary Borger out and about on the web. I won't post the exact site since it's a competitor to this one, but if you google it you shouldn't have much trouble finding it.